Keep Off The Crabbygrass

Order: Paperback only

Although most titles listed are available in paperback and/or ebook formats through Amazon, Anobii, Barnes & NobleBol (NL), Book DepositoryeBookMallFnac (FR), Foyles (UK), Goodreads, IndigoiTunes, Kobo (prices in ZAR sa-flag), LybraryNook, Takealot (prices in ZAR sa-flag) and 24 Symbols, we recommend readers make their purchases via Lulu.


Published: July 05, 2017
Pages: 452 (6″x 9″)
Binding: Perfect-bound Paperback
Dimensions (inches): 6″ wide x 9″ tall

‘Like’ Blachart, Demonspawn and Dead Beckoning by Christina Engela on Facebook

“The Quantum Series – Keep Off The Crabbygrass” is an omnibus of The Quantum Series titles 1, 2, 3 and 4, containing “Black Sunrise“, “The Time Saving Agency“, “Dead Man’s Hammer” and “Loderunner“.

Due to the variation in international markets and differing distribution marketing requirements, it has been necessary to reissue some titles in various series in different print formats. As a firm believer that the 4.25 wide x 6.88 tall “pocketbook” size is the appropriate size for “real” novels, I find it disappointing that some international distributors do not accept this size, favoring the 6″x 9″ format instead. It is larger for one thing, and as a result decreases page count, making books that were traditionally “long enough” to pack a decent-sized novel in the proper size, seem much smaller and less appealing in the 6 x 9 format.

At 452 pages in the new format, the print paperback copy containing the first four stories in the Quantum Series still works out cheaper than buying all four titles separately! Hopefully the new size will allow bookstores in South Africa to start stocking this title on their shelves soon! “The Quantum Series – Keep Off The Crabbygrass” is available only in paperback and the original separate titles in pocketbook size – as well as the separate ebook versions will continue to be available.

Back Cover:

“Starting with former C.I.A. Agent (that’s Colonial Intelligence Agency) Cindy-Mei Winter’s arrival on the backwater Terran colony of Deanna, the planet’s reputation for being the center of the universe as far as weirdness is concerned held true; strato-penguins that flew too high exploded, ha-ha birds crashed into everything, Ding, the small shiny moon really did fall down occasionally, and the Ruminarii – Humanity’s long-lost adversaries – chose that exact same day to crash the party by invading the colony.

Together with a string of interesting personalities on Deanna, including Fred the Arborian (the astonishing sentient and very mobile plant alien), Beck the Badfeller (Deanna’s most famous bounty hunter), Peg (the Sheriff of Atro City), Timaset Skooch (a ramshackle P.I.) and the Skeggs Valley Dynamite Fishing Club (don’t ask) – Mei must overcome a flurry of threats to life, liberty and peace and quiet, not the least of which include the ferocious Ruminarii, a rogue Time Agent, a deadly assassin pursuing a personal vendetta from her past, and an interplanetary kidnapping conspiracy involving the Martian mafia.

Black Sunrise, The Time Saving Agency, Dead Man’s Hammer and Loderunner – the first four stories in the Quantum Series in one big volume!

“Engela’s eye for the quirky humor of even the darkest situations sets her writing apart from the masses. Her fiction combines oddball humor, in the tradition of writers like Terry Pratchet and Douglas Adams, with the best of traditional science fiction.” – Sarah Rutledge Fischer, Focus Mid-South Magazine.”

%d bloggers like this: